Iles Eparses Facts Info StuffIles Eparses Info

Facts About Iles Eparses | Iles Eparses Facts Info Stuff

Here are some interesting facts about Iles Eparses - Category: Introduction - Background: The Iles Eparses, or scattered islands, are a group of five French entities - Bassas da India, Europa Island, Glorioso Islands, Juan de Nova Island, and Tromelin Island - which on 1 April 1960 came under the authority of the Minister in charge of overseas possessions. On 19 September 1960 by decree, the islands were transferred to the charge of the Prefet of Reunion where they remained until 3 January 2005 when they were transferred by another decree to the Senior Administrator of the Territory of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF).; Bassas da India: A French possession since 1897, this atoll is a volcanic seamount surrounded by reefs and awash at high tide.; Europa Island: A French possession since 1897, the island is heavily wooded; it is the site of a small military garrison that staffs a weather station.; Glorioso Islands: A French possession since 1892, the Glorioso Islands are composed of two lushly vegetated coral islands (Ile Glorieuse and Ile du Lys) and three rock islets. A military garrison operates a weather and radio station on Ile Glorieuse.; Juan de Nova Island: Named after a famous 15th century Spanish navigator and explorer, the island has been a French possession since 1897. It has been exploited for its guano and phosphate. Presently a small military garrison oversees a meteorological station.; Tromelin Island: First explored by the French in 1776, the island came under the jurisdiction of Reunion in 1814. At present, it serves as a sea turtle sanctuary and is the site of an important meteorological station.

Category: Government - Flag description: the flag of France is used

Category: People - Population: Bassas da India: uninhabitable; Europa Island, Glorioso Islands, Juan de Nova Island: a small French military garrison and a few meteorologists on each possession; visited by scientists; Tromelin Island: uninhabited, except for visits by scientists

Category: Economy - Economy - overview: no economic activity

Category: Geography - Geographic coordinates: Bassas da India: 21 30 S, 39 50 E; Europa Island: 22 20 S, 40 22 E; Glorioso Islands: 11 30 S, 47 20 E; Juan de Nova Island: 17 03 S, 42 45 E; Tromelin Island: 15 52 S, 54 25 E

Category: Transportation - Transportation - note: aids to navigation - lighthouses: Europa Island 18m; Juan de Nova Island (W side) 37m; Tromelin Island (NW point) 11m

Category: Communications - Communications - note: Europa Island, Glorioso Islands, Juan de Nova Island, Tromelin Island: 1 meteorological station on each possession; note - meteorological station on Tromelin Island is important for forecasting cyclones

Category: Military - Military - note: defense is the responsibility of France

Category: Transnational Issues - Disputes - international: Bassas da India, Europa Island, Glorioso Islands, Juan de Nova Island: claimed by Madagascar; Tromelin Island: claimed by Mauritius

Other random facts about Iles Eparses 

  1. Government - Executive branch: chief of state: President Jacques CHIRAC of France (since 17 May 1995); represented by Senior Administrator Michel CHAMPON

  2. Geography - Coastline (km): Bassas da India: 35.2 km; Europa Island: 22.2 km; Glorioso Islands: 35.2 km; Juan de Nova Island: 24.1 km; Tromelin Island: 3.7 km

  3. Transportation - Airports: 4 (2006)

Find out the facts about H2O here @ Iles Eparses Water

More World Facts About Stuff




Source: CIA - The World Factbook